Firefox performance problems with Firebug

I use the firebug extension in firefox very frequently, and I really recommend it. However, it does appear to cause some problems, at least when running firefox on Linux.

When firebug is running, firefox seems to freeze up for a second or more, and the cpu load spikes up. In a new firefox session, everything seems to work fine. But over time, the problem gets worse, and I usually end up having to restart firefox at least once daily. Really a bummer for productivity.

I think I found at least a partial workaround: by disabling firebug when I’m not actively using it, the problem is much less severe. I can’t say that it goes away completely, but at least firefox is still usable.

On the firefox menu: Tools -> Firebug -> Disable Firebug

Leave a Reply

